The Goddess Blog

Body, Mind & Spirit for the Divine Feminine

7 chakras goddess yoga

Did you know that you can effectively balance your 7 chakras and reset your nervous system with yoga and embodiment dance? When it comes to achieving a balanced and healthy life, yoga is an excellent practice to add to your daily routine. And embodiment dance also helps you to align yourself body, mind and spirit in a feel-good way. This also allows your nervous system to decompress and restore itself.

Yoga is a powerful practice that can help bring balance to both your physical and mental wellbeing. Because it will activate and balance your chakras, or energy centers in the body, yoga is an excellent practice to restore and reset your nervous system.

Embodiment dance will have the same effect but is practiced in a much more personalized and creative way. You will move in a way that your body tells you to based on the messages you receive. These two practices are excellent ways to restore your nervous system and help you to balance your 7 chakras. So, what are the 7 chakras actually? 

The History of the Chakras

The concept of chakras originates from the Hindu and Buddhist religions and is believed to have been developed over 5,000 years ago. In Hinduism, the chakras are seen as seven energy centers in the body that are connected to the body, mind, and spirit. The concept of chakras originated in the Vedic and Tantric traditions of India, in which they were seen as part of the subtle body, a system of energy fields associated with physical, mental, and spiritual processes.

What are the 7 Chakras?

The seven main chakras are located along the spine, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head, and each has a specific purpose. Each chakra is associated with a specific set of physical, emotional, and spiritual characteristics. The 7 chakras are the root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown chakras.

The root chakra is associated with grounding, the sacral chakra with creativity, the solar plexus with personal power, the heart with love, the throat with communication, the third eye with knowledge, and the crown with connection to the divine. Each chakra is associated with a color, element, sound, and life area.

The chakras are believed to be pathways through which energy flows between the physical and spiritual realms. Through meditation, yoga, and other spiritual practices, it is possible to open and balance the chakras, allowing for increased health, vitality, and connection to the divine. When the chakras are in balance, we are able to experience a sense of harmony and wellbeing in our lives. Unfortunately, when the chakras become blocked or out of balance, we can experience physical and emotional discomfort. 

How Does Yoga Balance the 7 Chakras?

Yoga poses, or asanas, can help to activate and balance the chakras by opening energy flows, building heat, releasing tension, and bringing oxygenated blood to certain parts of the body that may be blocked. Each pose has a specific effect on one or more of the chakras, and when practiced regularly, they can help to restore balance to the entire system. Through yoga, we can learn to open and activate the chakras, allowing us to experience a sense of physical and emotional wellbeing. 

In addition to yoga, other practices such as embodiment dance and meditation can help to restore and reset your nervous system. Embodiment dance is an expressive movement practice that helps to reconnect the body and mind. It helps to release tension, allowing us to explore our physicality in a safe and creative space. 

Meditation is an excellent tool for calming the mind and allowing us to sink into a deeper state of relaxation. Both of these practices can help to balance the nervous system, allowing us to experience a sense of peace and wellbeing. By incorporating yoga, embodiment dance, and meditation into our daily lives, we can help to balance and activate our chakras, restore and reset our nervous system, and ultimately find harmony and wellbeing in our lives.

Join us in Lago d’Orta this summer for our “Journey to the Goddess Kundalini Yoga and Embodiment Dance Retreat.” Two sessions available: August 6-12, 2023 and August 13-19, 2023. Your 7 chakras will be thanking you for it!