The Goddess Blog

Body, Mind & Spirit for the Divine Feminine

THE Minor Arcana

The four suits of the tarot

Tarot card meanings of the Minor Arcana consist of four suits: The Pentacles; The Wands; The Cups; and The Swords. These four suits correspond with the four elements – Earth, Fire, Water, and Air. Each element or suit has it’s own traits that influence the meaning of each card. Read more on the individual suit pages!


 Pentacles represent the element of earth – abundance in the physical world. These cards can indicate money and wealth, but also other kinds of abundance.

The Earth element pertains to things in our physical world that brings us a sense of physical safety and wellbeing. Therefore, the suit of Pentacles corresponds to the Earth signs of the zodiac – Taurus, Capricorn, Virgo.


The Wands represent the Fire element – the element of passion in all forms. This can be passion of a romantic nature, but also applies to action, initiative and inspiration.

Therefore, the Fire element indicates motivation and drive to do or accomplish something, and is related to the fire signs of the zodiac – Aries, Leo, Saggitarius.


The Suit of Swords correspond to the mind, the Air element. This element rules thoughts, ideas, communication, and decisions.

Therefore, Swords are often associated with news and also states of being where our thinking is influencing us, such as anxiety or over analyzing things. The Swords are associated with the air signs of the zodiac – Libra, Aquarius and Gemini.



The Cups of the Minor Arcana represent the element of Water – your emotions. Therefore, this suit is associated with love, feelings and all of the emotions we feel.

Astrologically, the suit of Cups corresponds to the water signs of the zodiac – Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio. Cups are connected to the heart chakra.